The Elected Voice of the Kootenays

The Association of Kootenay and Boundary Local Governments (AKBLG) is the local government association that represents the municipalities and electoral areas of the south-eastern portion of the province of British Columbia. The area includes the Regional Districts of Kootenay Boundary (RDKB), Central Kootenay (RDCK), East Kootenay (RDEK) as well as the Town of Golden and the Village of Valemount.

The AKBLG encompasses three regional districts entirely, and a part of a fourth and fifth that includes 23 electoral areas and 27 municipalities.  We are bordered by the Rockies to the east, the Okanagan to the West and the U.S. to the South.  Our municipalities range in population from the smallest in the province (Village of Silverton pop. 195) and the smallest city in Canada (Greenwood pop. 665), all the way up to the largest in our area, Cranbrook (20,047).  Our region is very rural - Cranbrook is the only AKBLG community with more than 11,000 people.

2019 Resolutions Package

2019 Resolutions Package

Current AKBLG Resolutions

2019 Resolutions - Post Convention

Past AKBLG Resolutions

2018 Resolutions

2017 Resolutions

2016 Resolutions

2015 Resolutions

2014 Resolutions

Want to write a great resolution?

 Here is UBCM's guide

AKBLG Directors and staff can be reached through:


Phone:  (250) 688-0650

Mailing:    AKBLG
                 c/o 4979 Falcon Drive
                 Fairmont Hot Springs, BC
                 V0B 1L1

Save the Date

2020 Vision: Embrace the Past to Build the Future

AKBLG Convention & AGM to be held in Radium Hot Springs

April 24 – 26, 2020

The Village of Radium of Hot Springs is pleased to host the AKBLG Convention and extends a warm welcome to all delegates and sponsors. You are invited to explore the village and all the area has to offer.

Early Bird Registration will be available March 2020

Shuttle Service Information

Accommodation Options

Sponsorship Information

Sponsorship Form Package

Tradeshow Registration Package