AKBLG Mission Statement

To assist our members in providing effective, responsible and accountable local government through engagement, education and advocacy.

Structure, Purpose & Mandate

The Association of Kootenay and Boundary Local Governments (AKBLG) is the local government association that represents the municipalities and electoral areas of the south-eastern portion of the province of British Columbia. The area includes the Regional Districts of Kootenay Boundary (RDKB), Central Kootenay (RDCK), East Kootenay (RDEK) and the Town of Golden and the Village of Valemount.

The AKBLG was established in November of 1933. It is one of five area associations within the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM). As a political entity, the AKBLG is a coalition of cities, municipalities, regional districts, townships and villages in South Eastern British Columbia.

The Executive board is comprised of 9 local government leaders elected from within the membership. A president, vice-president and six directors at large are elected bi-annually. The past-president also sits on this Executive Committee.  One staff person assists the AKBLG Executive.

The purpose of the association is to identify and illuminate issues that impact on the economy, environment, and the social well being of people living in South Eastern BC. The membership is encouraged to forward their concerns to the association.  Focusing on issues from a regional, rather than a local perspective, the Executive works through various channels to effect long-term solutions.  Committees are struck to address the immediate concerns of the membership for the development of an action plan.

The AKBLG conducts research and circulates information on identified concerns.  Workshops and information sessions are developed for the membership when required.  Resolutions are formulated and presented to the UBCM for further discussion and endorsement.  Issues are taken directly to senior levels of government.

Information & Statistics

The AKBLG encompasses three regional districts entirely, and a part of a fourth and fifth that includes 23 electoral areas and 27 municipalities.  We are bordered by the Rockies to the east, the Okanagan to the West and the U.S. to the South.  Our municipalities range in population from the smallest in the province (Village of Silverton pop. 195) and the smallest city in Canada (Greenwood pop. 665), all the way up to the largest in our area, Cranbrook (20,047).  Our region is very rural - Cranbrook is the only AKBLG community with more than 11,000 people.

AKBLG Strategic Plan

View AKBLG Strategic Plan 2019

View AKBLG Strategic Plan 2015

AKBLG Constitution

View AKBLG Constitution