AKBLG Executive, Committees, Staff & Past Presidents

The executive is elected by the AKBLG voting delegates at the AGM each year. Directors serve two year terms.

Top Row: Colleen Jones, Kevin McIsaac, Bill Wenman
Middle Row: Clara Reinhardt (President), Kathy Moore, Keith Page
Front Row: Ron Popoff, Cyra Yunkws (Vice President), Rob Lang

AKBLG Executive - 2021-2022

PresidentClara Reinhardt - Mayor, Radium Hot Springs
Vice PresidentCyra Yunkws - Councillor, Village of Warfield
DirectorBill Wenman - Councillor, Village of Fruitvale
DirectorColleen Jones - Councillor, City of Trail
DirectorRob Lang - Councillor, Village of Kaslo
DirectorKathy Moore - Mayor, City of Rossland
DirectorKevin McIsaac - Councillor, City of Fernie
DirectorKeith Page - Councillor, City of Nelson
DirectorRon Popoff - Councillor Cranbrook


Administrative CoordinatorLinda Tynan

AKBLG Directors and staff can be reached through:

Email: admin@akblg.ca
Mailing: AKBLG c/o 816 Sproat Drive
Nelson, BC
V1L 7B7


Finance and HR & Personnel: Clara Reinhardt (Chair), Adam Casemore, Rob Gay

The purpose of the Human Resource and Personnel Committee of the Association of the Kootenay Boundary Local Government (AKBLG) is to ensure the Executive is meeting its obligations relating to human resources and compensation matters and establishing plans for continuity of management.

The Finance Committee makes recommendations on the Association’s monetary funds. President, Vice President, Past President and Executive Director have signing authority (any two to sign).

Nominating and Life Member(s): Rob Gay (Chair), Cyra Yunkws, Keith Page

The purpose of the Nominations Committee is to develop a formal procedure for engaging our membership to allow them to have a fair opportunity to nominate/ be nominated for Executive positions at the Annual General Meeting.

Names for Life Membership nominations are brought to the Executive through the Nominating Committee.


Resolution Committee: Adam Casemore (Chair), Ron Popoff, Kevin McIsaac

The Resolutions Committee is responsible for engaging the membership in a timely manner to put out a Call for Resolutions and adds value by reviewing and editing resolutions for communities, followed by facilitating the Resolutions session of the AGM.

Policy and Constitution: Rob Lang (Chair), Kevin McIsaac, Cyra Yunkws

The purpose of the Policy Committee is to review the governing documents of the organization and establish whether they are consistent with the actual or desired organizational practices. The Policy Committee is also responsible to ensure effective orientation of new Executive members by providing a Board Manual.

Convention and AGM: Ron Popoff (Co-Chair), Rob Lang (Co-Chair), Adam Casemore, Keith Page

The purpose of the Convention and Annual General Meeting (AGM) Committee is to organize and conduct the business of the AKBLG which includes; presenting approved financial reports, executing the election of officers, moving through Resolutions and to allow our membership to hear presentation from the Executive. The goals of the Convention are to support the membership by providing education opportunities and advocacy.


Municipal Insurance Association Representative: Rob Gay

This committee is made up of one appointed Executive Member. The appointment is a 3-year term. Expiry is 2022.

Columbia River Treaty Local Government Committee (CRT LGC) AKBLG Representative: Clara Reinhardt

This appointment is a 4-year term as described in the CRT LGC Terms of Reference. Expiry is 2023.

Past Presidents

2020 - 2021 Rob Gay Director Area C & Chair RDEK
2019 - 2020 Rob Gay Director Area C & Chair RDEK
2018 - 2019 Debra Kozak Mayor of Nelson
2016 - 2017 Debra Kozak Mayor of Nelson
2014 Andy Shadrack Regional District of Central Kootenay
2012 - 2014 Wesly Graham Town of Creston
2010 - 2012 Grace McGregor Regional District of Kootenay Boundary
2009-2010 Heath Slee Regional District of East Kootenay
2008 Joe Snopek Town of Creston
2007-2008 Heath Slee Regional District of East Kootenay
2006-2007 Janis Dahlen Village of Nakusp
2005-2006 Bev Bellina District of Sparwood
2004-2005 Bill Baird Regional District of Kootenay Boundary
2003-2004 Gordon DeRosa City of Trail
2002-2003 Rick Hardie Regional District of Kootenay Boundary
2001-2002 Bert Banks City of Kimberley
2000-2001 Arno Hennig City of Greenwood
1999-2000 Ed Gatzke Town of Creston
1999-2000 Phil Berukoff Village of Salmo
1998-1999 Josh Smienk Regional District of Central Kootenay
1997-1998 Josh Smienk Regional District of Central Kootenay
1996-1997 Joe Tatangelo Regional District of Kootenay Boundary